Life Events

You’re a WHAT?!

That’s right everyone… I am the new Skyline Senior High School JV Volleyball Coach!!!!! The best part? I look their age hahaha on the day of tryouts the girls all thought I was another new girl… They didn’t take me very seriously right off the bat, those little turds!
    Seriously the most fun job I have ever had! My girls made me so dang proud every day! They worked hard for me and improved in ways I couldn’t even imagine! Not only did they make my days better, they taught me what it meant to be apart of something again! They taught me how to be a better coach and how to be a better friend! By the end of the season I had coaches telling me how much my girls have improved. I also had some refs tell me they loved watching my team play the most because of how much they improved and because we celebrated the little things! I seriously think I had the best team pretty much anywhere! We danced, and laughed, and cheered our hearts out this season and played harder than all of that. If you can’t tell, I love my girls!!!!!
     I can’t wait until next year 🙂
SMLXL

#9-Ana   #11 Marisa   #13 Allison   #7 Morgan   #8 Aliyah   #14 Bri   #12 Alex   #3 Raegan
SMLXL

 We did a little team bonding at the pumpkin patch because it was #fabulousfall
SMLXL

 This is Kodi. She was our team captain and honestly my saving grace! She helped me run drills so I could focus on my girls more than where I tossed a ball!
SMLXL

 My setter! I awarded her the Most Versatile player because I never intended to make her my full time setter but she played her heart out and was willing to go wherever I put her! She may have been the most quiet volleyball player but her potential and abilities speak louder than words!
SMLXL

 My middle/right side hitter! I awarded her the Grizz Award because she demonstrated the desire, effort, and motivation to continually improve and change for the good of the team! She always worked to see her weaknesses and improve and she did just that!
SMLXL

 My middle hitter. Also my tallest player 😉 Allison was given the MVP award. I never saw this girl angry or upset. She cheered on the court as loudly as she cheered on the bench! She was my most enthusiastic cheerleader as well! I got on her case all the time and she took it like a champ! She never questioned what I was telling her or got upset about what I said. Instead she took her frustrations and channeled it into learning!
SMLXL

 My other middle hitter. Morgan was awarded the Most Improved. This is a girl who came into the season with great potential. I watched all season as she learned to recognize on her own what felt right and what didn’t. She was so excited as soon as she fixed something or got a powerful kill. This is a girl who I told what to do but had to learn it for herself and I commend her for that! She was also the best story teller and always kept games or practices entertaining!
SMLXL

 Raegan is an outside and one of my shortest players! She was awarded the Coaches Choice. She was a leader on the court from day one. Her teammates looked up to her because of her skill and confidence. She knew what she needed to improve on and showed up every day to work on those things. She was a captain on and off the court. She also teased me the most about looking like a senior so I can’t wait until she is 22 and dealing with the same problems!
SMLXL

 Bri is my setter and right side hitter. Bri was given my Most Strong-Minded award. For those that don’t know Bri, she is very strong minded. She is the type of girl that will set her mind to something and do it. She is always confident in her ability to overcome obstacles and work hard. She and I had some emotional moments but I could always count on her to do what needed to be done.
SMLXL

 Aliyah was my libero and youngest player. She was awarded the Sportsmanship Award. She exemplified behavior, attitude, an control on and off the court. She never complained and always looked for the positive in everything. She would step up every time her team needed her and get her hand on everything. She is the type of player that every team needs but may not always recognize. She may be the youngest but that didn’t stop her from taking charge on a court and being the positive force they needed at times.
SMLXL

Alex is another one of my outside hitters and was awarded the Defensive Player Award. Seems odd to give a hitter the defensive player award but she was unreal at times in the back row. This is the girl that bled through her jersey because she wasn’t afraid to hit the floor to get a ball up. She stepped up when needed and wasn’t afraid to do what it took. She also has a mean hit! I could put her on the court and not have to worry about what was going to happen. She allowed me the ability to focus on other aspects of the game because when she was up, we couldn’t fail.
SMLXL

This is Kalli. Kalli is an outside hitter and was awarded Best Attitude. A little known fact about her was that she chose to be on my JV team. She made Varsity but chose to have more playing time. Kalli was also one of my youngest players but that didn’t stop her for a second. She was always giddy and cheerful. She was open and honest with me about what she wanted and how I could help her. She accepted my feedback because she knew it would make her a better player and athlete all around. She made me laugh harder than I have in a very long time and the team could always count on her to do something comical pretty much daily!
SMLXL

SMLXL

 Mirror selfie before a game 🙂
SMLXL

Leave a Reply

