A Sister in Zion

A Gratitude Challenge

Many of you know that I am Mormon. For those who don’t know what that means, I am a part of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. If you still have never heard of that, visit this website: lds.org!

Anyways, in sacrament I heard something from a speaker that touched my heart.

The topic was about finding gratitude in all things. This is something I have made a goal to do each and every day of my life.

This past year has been really hard. For a time, I couldn’t find gratitude. I didn’t want to talk to anyone, I was quick to anger, and I was constantly annoyed with everyone around me. I would go through the motions. Wake up, go to school, do homework, make dinner, watch TV, and go to bed. I wasn’t hanging out with friends and time with family got on my nerves. I wasn’t spending quality time doing things I enjoyed or that brought me happiness.

One night, a friend reached out to me and asked if I wanted to go to volleyball. If you know me, you know I love volleyball! I was a little grumpy but I decided to go anyways and you know what? I had the best night I had had in a very long time! I had forgotten what it felt like to do something I love and forget the world for the few hours I played.

It hit me then, I couldn’t keep living the way I had been. I had to find joy in the journey, even if that journey was hard. I was so grateful for that friend asking me to go!

Not long ago, I read one of those self help books (I can’t remember which one) and it talked about a gratitude journal. The book itself was about becoming a happier you and a gratitude journal helps with that. So I took on that challenge!

IMG_2686

The challenge: Every day, at the same time, write down three things you are grateful for that day.

If you are like me, sometimes you forget to do little things like this! And I do, regularly! It’s the thought that counts right? Whenever I forget, I write it down first thing the next morning!

As I reflect on each day, I find myself finding more than three things I am grateful for.

For example: I am grateful for the 5 minutes of sunshine Rexburg receives! I am grateful that I have friends who make me laugh. I am grateful I completed my homework and turned it in on time! I am grateful I get to play volleyball and be a part of the BYU-Idaho volleyball family! I am grateful for the phone calls home! I can’t even list all the things I find gratitude in each and every day!

I challenge you! From here on out, reflect each night on the things that brought you joy that day! All it has to do is bring a smile to your face! Good Luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

