A Sister in Zion

Back in the Game

Can I just say one thing? Dating is intimidating!!! I don’t know how I used to do it or how all of my friends do it every day!

If you haven’t guessed, I went on my first date!!!! Well since my life changed! And boy did it feel weird for about the first hour! I was so nervous before he came and picked me up! I kept making sure my hair and makeup were perfect and trying not to panic. I wasn’t quite sure how to feel. Part of me was unsure if I should even be going while the other part was saying that it’s okay to get back out there.

And just so we are clear, I fully believe it’s okay for me to start dating whenever I want. You may not agree with me or think I am crazy but I am the judge of how I feel and what I am ready for. And I am ready to move on and move forward with my life.

Back to the date! I was a nervous wreck. I kept wondering if I would act normal or if I would be similar to those returned missionaries who get awkward around the opposite gender. It had been a long time since going on a first date! And this time around, I am a lot more picky.

I shouldn’t have to say yes to everyone that asks. If I am not interested, then I don’t really want to waste their time or money. I know what I want for my life and from a husband so why dilly dally?

When he picked me up, I kept over thinking everything! Was I talking enough? Was I saying too much? Did I laugh at the wrong time? I felt so weird!!! Thank the heavens he was such a gentleman! I started to lighten up pretty fast and after about 30 minutes, I felt totally myself again!

I think he knew I was nervous because he kept the date super low key! We went to a movie and after he took me out for ice cream! Simple but so sweet! I think I needed a low key date to start off to calm my nerves and let me ease back into it all!

 

 

Leave a Reply

