A Sister in Zion

Responses from Questions

Thank you guys for reaching out and asking questions! I have been going over these all weekend and have finally figured out how I want to respond…

  1. So what was it like growing up Mormon as a teenager?

Growing up Mormon was both easy and hard. I grew up in a home where the gospel was taught regularly. I had a firm testimony and solid support from my family as I navigated the trials of the teenage years. Going to school, I didn’t want to be known as the weird Mormon girl but I also knew what my standards were. I am not going to lie and say I was perfect. I made my fair share of mistakes but I also had a firm testimony in the Lord and because of that I had the opportunity to repent and realign myself with the Lord. It’s hard at times but if we know what our standards are before we get into a situation, we will make the right choices.

2. Was there ever a time when college was too hard and stressful for you that you wanted to quit?

I will totally admit I have wanted to drop out several times! There have been several times when I have cried and had to walk away from my homework for a while. School is hard. It’s time consuming, frustrating, and challenging. But it is also exciting and rewarding! I would always recommend getting as much of an education as you can! It is so important and opens up so many more doors in the future! As hard as it can be, I have loved every second of my college career and wouldn’t take any of it back!

3. What is your dream career?

Okay this might sound a little cliché but I my dream career is to be a mom! I can’t wait to have my own kids!!! Yeah I will probably do some sort of marketing job from home if possible but I really can’t wait to love and teach my own kids!

4. Would you ever want to get married again in the future?

Heck yes!!! I know my marriage ended and it was rocky but I look forward to the day when I get to marry an amazing guy who loves me and loves God. I look forward to growing and learning with my future husband and starting a family! I want to be married because I know the blessings that come from it! My bad experience doesn’t mean I can’t have a loving and fulfilling marriage with someone else.

5. How did you make the decision to get a divorce?

Not easily!!! I can tell you right now that was the scariest and hardest decision I have ever made. It was also the best decision FOR ME! I am not saying divorce is always the answer. I spent a long time trying my hardest to make my marriage work. I tried to be happy and positive and supportive. I prayed all day every day. I fasted and attended the temple. I even received blessings. My advice if your marriage is rocky and that is a path you may be heading down, meet with you bishop! He can guide and direct you! I love talking to people and listening to them tell their stories but I am not a substitute for your priesthood leaders. Just a friend!

6. How are you so happy after the divorce?

I choose to be! There is no point looking back at the past and letting it ruin my happiness. My marriage ended and it was hard. But it is also over and something that had been in the works long before I actually left. I don’t need to focus on the negative but rather on the happiness that comes with moving forward and progressing in life.

Thanks for opening up and asking questions!!! I have loved hearing from all of you! I didn’t answer them all but if there is anything else, please don’t hesitate to reach out!

Leave a Reply

