A Sister in Zion

So There’s This Guy

Okay guys… if there was any time to judge, it would be now. I have accepted that by going public with this, I am opening myself up to a lot more ridicule. However, I also feel like I have been open with all of you and I want to continue doing that! I am actually pretty nervous about talking about all of this but I feel like it’s the right time for me to share. I have contemplated this long enough… so here it goes!

For those of you who know me, and I mean actually know me, you know about my history with a man named Steve. For those of you that don’t know that history, I will give you a little background.


Steve and I met when I was 18 years old, just out of high school. A member of the bishopric gave him my phone number so he could ask me on a date. I had always thought he was super hot but he was older than me so I never thought he would ask me out! I was wrong… he took the advice of that bishopric member. Once we started hanging out, we didn’t stop. That first year, I even went on a trip with his family! However, I was only 18 years old… and I hadn’t even started college yet. So off I went.

We didn’t date while I was at school but we kind of kept in contact. When I came back that fall, we picked up where we left off and grew even closer than before. But again… I left for school. And that next fall… I didn’t come back. I saw him a little over the Christmas break but went back to school yet again. That next year at school… I met my husband.

So at this point, I had known Steve for 3 years. We didn’t stay in contact during the next 2 years because I was married! We had both moved on.

Steve is someone I have always looked up to and admired. Over the years, I have looked to him and tried to pattern my life after his example. He is confident. Something I am not. He is incredibly hard working in his day to day life as well as in his callings in the church. This might seem like a small thing but one of my favorite qualities he has is his desire to include everyone. He has this talent of making people feel comfortable and loved. I could go on and on about the qualities I admire about him but that is not the purpose of this post! Back on track…

When my marriage ended, I reached out and sought advice. I never expected anything from him and I didn’t go looking for something. I have always felt like he puts things in perspective for me and at that point, I needed that.

From there, we just kept talking. Since I am at school and he is at home, it’s been pretty casual. As you all know, I went to Steamboat Springs a couple weeks ago and he was a part of the group that went! Every time I see him, we get closer and closer! Because of our history, we are comfortable and familiar. I know who he is and where he stands in life and I love that! I love how easy it was to fall right in step with him again.



So if you haven’t figured it out yet… Steve and I are dating! There it is. The statement that could bring so much ridicule and judgement! But you know what? I don’t care. Steve makes me so incredibly happy. I draw strength from him and I wouldn’t change how we got to this point. It might seem fast but I am doing what makes me happy and what I feel is best for my life. Because of our history, I wouldn’t have started dating him without first praying and seeking guidance from the Lord. I feel confident that I am making the best choice for me and my future. As our relationship progresses, I will keep you all updated!

I just wanted to share this next step in my life with you because I am so happy and so excited! And nothing anyone says will change that!!!

One thought on “So There’s This Guy

Leave a Reply

